Casa dolce casa

“Living like a local” is starting to feel like a bit of a central theme in the Destination Umbria journey. When I go to Italy these days I’m very aware of the huge pleasure I get from staying largely in one spot (for me it’s Perugia) and just living like a local.  I absolutely love the sense of homecoming. (I never feel remotely the same about returning to Melbourne no matter how long I’ve stayed away.)  Shopkeepers and baristas, shop girls, even buskers remember you in Perugia.  It’s still that kind of place.  Full of simple pleasures and daily rituals that take a long time to change.  Paradise for a creature of habit like me.

 

Where in Italy do you feel at home? What’s the thing you miss most about your favourite place?  Leave a comment.  I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

