Don’t settle

Every so often something happens to remind us that this life is the only one we know for sure we’re ever going to get.  The visionary Steve Jobs is dead at 56 and his words have appeared all over the internet already today.  I can’t read them enough:

“No one wants to die, even people who want to go to Heaven don’t want to die to get there.  And yet, death is the destination we all share.  No one has ever escaped it.

And that’s as it should be, because death is very likely the single best invention of life.  It’s life’s change agent: it clears out the old to make way for the new…

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life… The only way to do great work is to love what you do… Don’t settle.”

Steve Jobs’ speech to the graduates of Stanford University, 1995.

For years and years I’ve felt like someone else is living the ife I should be having, while I’ve been left behind, going through the motions.  It’s not that I’ve settled for less so much as I haven’t settled at all. Italy means so much to me because it’s when I’m there that I feel truly myself.  I’m interested and interesting.  I feel more.  Putting the reasons why into words for others to read is a challenge for another day perhaps.  It’s almost as if I don’t want to, just in case saying the words might break the spell.

Having the courage to be yourself, respecting your ideas no matter how different, taking responsibility for the dreams that won’t let go is easier said than done.  But that’s no excuse for not trying.

Leave a Reply

