Festa

The 30 day challenge (start doing what you love in 30 days) that sparked this blog timed out over the weekend. And I made it, well and truly. I don’t want to say too much.  It’s not my style and I know i’m still at the beginning. But the difference I feel between now and 30 days ago is immense.  The ideas I’ve kept inside for so long about turning my passion for Italy into something real are actually out there, taking shape in public.  And the response from the world has been warmer and more positive and more wonderful than I ever thought it could be.  Dreams are starting to feel like plans.  And I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time.  I have faith.

Today is my birthday. By this time next year, who knows where I’ll be with this thing? But for now, for the first time in ages, I feel like I’ve got a reason to celebrate.

I don’t know.  You might have guessed already I’m not a great one for parties.  But I remember well the totally lost-in-the-moment desire to dance I felt one Sunday morning at Perugia’s biggest street party of the year, eurochocolate.  I loved feeling swept up in the mix.  Children, old people, young people, local, visitor, chocolate lover and non, joy and the slightly overwhelming swell of the crowd.  It was my kind party.

On the street...eurochocolate, Perugia

And the band played on....eurochocolate, Perugia

eurochocolate...Piazza IV Novembre, Perugia

eurochocolate....Corso Vannucci, Perugia

 

Leave a Reply

