Love made visible

Work is love made visible.
And if you cannot work with love but only with distaste, it is better that you should leave your work and sit at the gate of the temple and take alms of those who work with joy.
For if you bake bread with indifference, you bake a bitter bread that feeds but half man’s hunger.
And if you grudge the crushing of the grapes, your grudge distils a poison in the wine.
And if you sing though as angels, and love not the singing, you muffle man’s ears to the voices of the day and the voices of the night.

Kahlil Gibran

Palazzo dei Priori, Perugia.....detail at entry off Corso Vannucci

A glimpse of Corso Vannucci from Palazzo dei Priori

If stones could talk....Palazzo dei Priori, Perugia

More than anything, I want my work to feel like this.  I envy the artisans of the world, with their sons and daughters who follow in their footsteps and do it for the love.  I envy their sense of a clear purpose, of the natural order of things.  Even in hard times.

It’s difficult to say this because it sounds so ungrateful and selfish and pointless, but sometimes I wish my grandparents had stayed in Sicily.  I might have had an easier time of it.

Comments 3

  1. Helen November 4, 2011

    It’s very easy to imagine a wonderful life growing up in Italy today – but I think for your grandparent’s generation, it was extremely hard, particularly in Southern Italy. They may have suffered grinding poverty with little hope of a better life other than taking the action they did. And it must have been acutely painful for such family-centric people to leave behind those they love, not knowing when they would see or hear them again. I’ve read that many migrants only planned to be away temporarily and never intended to stay and put down roots. I think your grandparents were very brave but they obviously made a success of the move or you wouldn’t be where you are now – or with the love of Italy you have. You’re following in their footsteps – but this time back to Italy – how wonderful is that? And this time, you’re able to share the journey… 🙂

  2. janinevasta November 5, 2011

    Helen, your incredibly beautiful comment has made me feel much better today! Thank you. I know my grandfather sent money back home as he worked cutting cane, fully intending to return to Sicily to settle down. His brother let him down though, lost the money I think and he had no choice but to stay in Australia. He was such a quiet gentle soul. I want to make my life work out for him. Today I am thinking about everything I have, thanks to him, and thanks to you for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

