Roman Holiday

Shopping in Rome always feels like a party to me.  Especially on a Saturday afternoon when Via del Corso and Via del Babuino start to verge on the scary they’re so jam-packed.  Kids from the suburbs in town for the evening, apartment dwellers walking the dog, Romans, Italians, foreigners, students, tourists of course.  Like a crowd scene from the United Colours of Benetton.  (Um, do they still have those ads?)  These days no one’s spending like they used to, but the vibe on the streets and the beauty and creativity of the shop windows when I was there a few months back felt invincible.  And I love that!  Over at An Italophile this morning Cathy’s post made me believe nothing’s changed.

Life imitates art.....The Spanish Steps, Rome

They say the test of world-weariness is London.  Samuel Johnson said, “when a man is tired of London, he’s tired of life”.  I first saw those words on a beer stein in a house I shared in Battersea many years ago.  They didn’t convince me then either.  But the idea that a city could possess all a person loves about life made perfect sense.

The day I fly into Rome Fiumicino without feeling like an over-excited child, grinning helplessly as I wait at the baggage carousel, I’ll know something’s up.

What destination does that for you? Maybe you’re already there? Just leave me a comment below.

Comments 2

  1. Billups Catherine February 11, 2012

    Benetton no longer has those wonderful ads as Oliviero Toscani the photographer and creator of the controversial ad campaign no longer works at Benetton. I loved the ads and was able to convince them to advertise in The New Yorker magazine which I represented in Italy. Your blog is delightful. Found it today on Jann’s site. Very enjoyable.

    • janinevasta February 11, 2012

      Catherine, thanks so much for the background on Oliviero Toscani. Those ads were huge when I first went to Italy. so memorable. How fascinating your connection with the campaign – and The New Yorker. I am really flattered by your sweet comments about the blog. Grazie di cuore.

Leave a Reply

