Continental drift

Turns out Giulia was right.  I am feeling left out of things this week.  What with so much focus on Europe.  Life in Melbourne hitting its stride. Routines in place for another year.  And we all know how quickly time flies once one week starts to resemble the last.

The other thing is how vulnerable I feel without a new travel plan in place. I always joke that I need a ticket to Italy booked and paid for to feel tranquilla. But it’s the truth. Thing is, I wouldn’t even mind if I kept the pushing the departure date back all year. I’m good at waiting. It’s really just the commitment to going again that I need. The promise. Something precious to look forward to.

Breakfast is served...I look at this view and can still taste the cornetto from the bakery in Piazza Matteotti, just around the corner!

I’ve taken my time in saying this, but in Perugia, along with the best brioche in Italy, awaits a Mr Perugia. Well, after a fashion anyway. A character I’d have to invent if he didn’t exist already. My best friend and yet, at the same time, someone whose presence makes my life so tricky sometimes, living where I do. In Italy I am lucky enough to have the most gorgeous, glorious friends, old and new. I have family in Florence and Sicily.  Quasi famiglia in Puglia.  I have faces who know me and smile warmly when I’m back in town. I love them all.  My life wouldn’t be the same without them.  And I rely on them more than they know.

The view from the terrace of the Mercato Coperto, Perugia

But it’s him I miss. He who is like chocolate!!!  Just when you think you’ve lost the urge, the taste for it, that it’s not all it’s cracked up to be, one bite and it’s all you can think of for days. Che non si muore per amore e’ un gran bella verita’, sang Battisti. E aveva ragione. Not so sure about the English equivalent, ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’, though. Most days just now I feel somewhere in the middle. Neither here nor there. Not sad of course, but not happy either. And by now I know. There’s just one thing for it.

Comments 6

  1. jann February 12, 2012

    I so know this feeling! All my life I’ve been a vagabond, even before settling on Sicily. And having that ticket in hand–a trip to to look forward to–makes waiting so much easier. Now about this Mr. Perugia….sounds intriguing!

    • janinevasta February 12, 2012

      Vagabonds together Jann!! Your comment this morning made me smile. It really means so much to know that there are people as wonderful and sensitive as you looking on, who have gone through and go through the same emotions… I would love to know more of your story. I have a sense, if it wasn’t Umbria, that I would choose Sicily. Real stories are better than any fiction, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

