The truth about books

I emptied my bookcase on Saturday. Stacked the books. Dusted the shelves. Dusted the books and restocked the shelves in a new location where the sun wasn’t quite as fierce. (Fading is a big problem in Australia). Dimmi cosa leggi e ti diro’ chi sei. Well if that’s true I’m either a change-seeking design fanatic who’d rather be in Italy or a Eurocentric Italy lover who deals in interiors. Both are true, on and off. It all depends on the day really.

A couple of weeks back, a comment Daniela left on the blog got me thinking. She wrote about the ‘accidental’ signs we leave around the place. The ones about who we are and what we really want but are maybe too shy or scared or superstitious to say out loud. Maybe even as we’re busy telling the world another story entirely.

But books don’t lie. Along with clothes and shoes and bags and our choice in house plants, our books are some of our clearest markers. After a while they make their own patterns. There are seasons. Clusters. Themes emerge then fade away as we change. And others get stronger.

Looking up from the streets behind the Uffizi, Florence

What are you reading? On my bedside table I’ve got Stuff Parisians Like by French blogger Olivier Magny. I’ve just finished Mezza Italiana after recommendations from Lisa and Carla, so I knew I was in good hands. With the latest Alain de Botton waiting in the wings.  See what I mean?

Bene. Now it’s your turn…

Comments 8

  1. jann March 28, 2012

    George Elliot’s Middlemarch sitting like a huge brick on the bedside table.

    I haven’t heard of the Olivier Magny book, but it sounds like something I’d like. I’ve also liked Alain de Botton. Happy reading! Don’t you wish we had more time for it? I have permanently turned the TV to OFF, but still….

    • janinevasta March 28, 2012

      Like the brick analogy Jann. Olivier Magny is a bit lighter…but clever and funny. I am a Parisienne somewhere deep inside and his ruthless criticisms are spot on! You would be the only Sicilian I know who doesn’t have the TV on at mealtimes then…Happy reading! Jx

  2. Shelagh March 29, 2012

    I’m reading a biography of Gertrude Bell, a brilliant English adventuress who rode (on camel and horseback) through the wildest middle Eastern places at the start of the 1900’s, making friends with sheiks and diplomats in all quarters.

    And I guess that says something too, as least with respect to whom I tend to admire!

Leave a Reply

