Love in the afternoon

Even when they’re not really trying, I think I’d add windows to the list of things Italians do better than just about anyone else. I blame the shutters.

And it doesn’t end there. In Perugia there’s even a guy in Corso Cavour who crafts folding screens, paraventi, and decorative wall art from the shutters of old windows.

Comments 22

  1. Shelagh April 2, 2012

    There’s something very charming about shutters, isn’t there? And so functional, with their ability to let in the breeze but not the sun in the middle of the afternoon. Ligurian shutters are usually hinged halfway down so they can be cantilevered open for more air, without adding more sun.

    • janinevasta April 2, 2012

      I know Shelagh, shutters are the perfect mix of romance and practicality. They remind me of eye lashes… Love the sound of the Ligurian variation. Endlessly adaptable. We really need shutters in Australia with the ridiculous sun we get. But alas…

  2. lily2u1 April 2, 2012

    Ah, I love windows with window boxes and flowers, and shutters. I love such pretty windows, with pretty views I imagine. And of course A Room With a View…
    That about covers it, before I am traipsing the Italian countryside.
    Thank you for all of the beautiful photos, Janine; it is always delightful to “travel” to Italy with you.
    ~ Lily

  3. Ingrid April 3, 2012

    Ciao Janine! I thought since you visited I would take a look at your blog. Indeed what’s not to love about Italy! Despite all the frustrations many expats choose to call Italy home & I am looking forward to the day I can officially do the same! I read your ‘about me’ also and hope you find your way to live your Italian dream – being able to visit frequently is definitely a starting point! Living in Melbourne is not a bad thing – I did for nearly 10 years – great Gelati, Food & Italian community there to be enjoyed!!

    • janinevasta April 3, 2012

      Ciao Ingrid, Welcome and thank you! You might be right… If I can’t make it to Italy just yet, then Melbourne has lots of consolations I must admit. But there’s no substitute for the real thing😉 I wish well with your Italy dream too! It sounds like a great adventure.

  4. Lisa | Renovating Italy April 5, 2012

    Italians seem to do most things better! Windows and doors, are so beautiful they capture the attention of so many photographers. The buildings have such heart, texture, proportion, color, and decoration. Perhaps one day we will be able to raise a glass and drink to the trials of getting there Ingrid and Janine.
    xx

    • janinevasta April 5, 2012

      Yes Lisa, surrounded by all that beauty. I can’t wait. It’s a beautiful evening in Melbourne but this time last year I was touching down in Milan for Easter and I’m feeling just a touch nostalgic. Your comments give me a reason to cheer though! Grazie cara.

      • Lisa | Renovating Italy April 5, 2012

        happy to add cheer, and hoping you have a wonderful Easter. I so miss Melbourne especially as all my family are there. We came to Qld 9 years ago, yet I still think of Melbourne as home and this our holiday house. Here’s to the next “touch down” for us all xxx

      • janinevasta April 6, 2012

        How funny and lovely that you still think like that Lisa. It goes without saying, I hope, that whenever you’re in Melbourne I would be so happy to meet up. Buona Pasqua and happy travels, be they real or imaginary this Easter. Jx

    • janinevasta April 6, 2012

      Ciao Maria Luisa. Thank you! I love the detail, the nuances of Italy so. It is almost too much beauty sometimes. I absolutely love your collection of door knockers…You have an great eye. A presto, Janine

  5. orvietoorbust April 7, 2012

    Janine. There is a wonderful scene in the movie “Enchanted April”. The group leaves England in the pouring, gray rain and arrives in Italy at night. When they throw open their shutters, the bright sun and blue sea pours into their room. You are right about the windows and Lisa is right about the doors – Italians do them better than anyone. I love the shutter, but I have to say that I don’t love closing them completely at night like a lot of Italians prefer to do. I need to be able to see my hand in front of my face and know when the light comes up or I might sleep the entire day away. 🙂 toni

    • janinevasta April 7, 2012

      Trust you dear Toni….Just when I thought the dreaded ritual of the external shutters would just be lost on everyone, ci sei tu! I have vivid, goosebumpy memories of standing before the window of my little room in Perugia the first day ever in Italy and feeling like I was in a film…I must see Enchanted April. Haha, yes the only time I have ever managed to sleep in till 11 was in Perugia come to think of it. You are so right – again! Jxx

Leave a Reply

