The art of consolation

You know that thing where you’re standing in front of a painting and you just can’t bring yourself to move away? It was like that when I saw the work of the Perugia-based artist Francesco Ciavaglioli in a group show at Palazzo della Penna last year.

I still think about it. But the thing is how easily I could have missed it all together. It made me wonder just how many other things we miss around the place. Lots I imagine, lots. But not all.

Apartments of Via Vivi con vespa

La spesa del sabato

Palazzo della Penna

Comments 8

  1. Cathy April 25, 2012

    So true Janine, and that is why I love it when I get the chance to walk around a place, so I can observe more than I do, say if I were in a car. Time permitting I can stop and observe what is going on around me, like you do with your photo of the lady knitting.

    • janinevasta April 25, 2012

      Cathy, I love being in Italy for the fact that I walk everywhere and never have a car. So you can’t help but see the world differently can you? It’s a luxury to take that time, as you say, and really observe…then reflect over the best coffee in the world…sigh!😉

    • janinevasta April 25, 2012

      Well thank you Jann! Your photos are brilliant so I really appreciate that. That’s a nice way to put it. Slowing down. Walking around with a camera (or phone) in hand makes you see things with new eyes for sure. But then maybe you have to have a certain way of looking in the first place??? I can’t imagine what I’ll be like when I’m next in Italy. I was bad enough before the blog! Jx

  2. lily2u1 April 26, 2012

    I have never been to Perugia, but your photo journeys take me away and make me want to see the actual places.
    Janine, you capture so well the light and layers of all the stucco, brick and stone; it is as if they hold so many stories, secrets, and truths. ~ Lily

    • janinevasta April 26, 2012

      That’s great to hear you say Lily! Thank you!! It’s really what I am trying to do with the blog. Share places I love because I know how much their beauty – interior and exterior – has shaped me. Hopefully for the better. The layers and stories are the reason you never feel alone in Italy I think….

Leave a Reply

