Thinking of renovating? Shouldn’t you really see Italy first?

Mind you, renovating in Italy is just about the pinnacle of my list of the things I’d most like to do at some time in my life. But I think you know what I mean….

Florence from the roof of the Duomo

The Campanile di Giotto

San Lorenzo and the Mercato Centrale

Via dei Servi

Palazzo Vecchio

Santa Croce

Santa Maria Novella

Why not climb to the top of the Duomo, anche tu?

Address Piazza Duomo – in the very centre of Florence.

Entrance Tickets to visit the cupola of Santa Maria del Fiore (no lift access!) cost 8 euro.

Comments 18

  1. orvietoorbust May 4, 2012

    Janine, Renovating? First one has to own a property.LOL. Me, I prefer to keep all my money (the little I can accumulate) for travel back to Italy. I drive an old Suburu, buy discount clothing and shoes, save, save, save…Basically, I work for Italy – but I am rich in the things that matter to me. I agree, SEE ITALY!!!! Hugs. toni

    • janinevasta May 4, 2012

      I am getting the feeling we might be able to swap lives/minds/hearts one day soon and no one would know the difference. Least of all noi due….! True love, especially where Italy is involved, never runs smooth, Toni. But you know that. Still as lovers go some are worth more trouble than others….no? Jxxx

  2. Debra Kolkka May 4, 2012

    I have climbed the campanile, but not to the top of the Duomo…next trip, it will be too hot and crowded soon. Our house is not finished so I am staying for another month to work on it. What a pity you are not here to help me decorate it.

    • janinevasta May 4, 2012

      The view of the cupola must be incredible from the campanile. I really must follow your lead when I’m back in Florence in cooler weather.
      I’m glad you’re staying on a bit longer too Debra. I would have been absolutely thrilled to give you a hand with the decoration. So sweet of you to say. Jx

  3. Sojourning Abroad - Justin May 4, 2012

    wow! How’d you get rooftop pics? i’ve never been to italy (yet) so is that something that is open to the public? … i have to admit too, every time i see pictures of florence, i can’t help but think about Assassins Creed the video game…

    • janinevasta May 4, 2012

      Well Justin, there are 463 steps involved – but it’s well worth the climb!! Florence is an incredible place. If I could only see one city in Italy Florence would be it. I hope you get to see it one day very soon…

    • janinevasta May 4, 2012

      Thank you Carla. I remember of course your fairytale of the morning you first scaled the Duomo with your very own prince! It is a wonderful experience to share with a special someone.

  4. jann May 4, 2012

    Those shots made me giddy, Janine! Do you mean you meet folks whose goal is to renovate a house in a country they’ve never seen? A word from someone who’s been there: think long and hard about if you can stomach lots of bureaucracy & delays, then go ahead and do it, and when you run into the inevitable wall, remind yourself that lots of people would love to be in your shoes.

    • janinevasta May 4, 2012

      Well Jann, I have seen TV shows about that sort of people…. But no, what I meant was that experiencing Italy should take precedence over spending money on renovatingšŸ˜‰ In my rose-coloured opinion of coursešŸ˜‰
      It sounds like Italy has put you through the renovation mill! I really appreciate your comments and your philosophy….You tend to hear that same story with alarming frequency don’t you? I really hope all the passion that inspired you to take on the project in the first place is still there to console you when you need it most.;-) Jxx

    • janinevasta May 4, 2012

      How fabulous Susie! Thank you!! Will this be your first trip? You’ll adore Florence. It’s a wonderful city – all the more so with the language under your belt… Lovely to see you here too.

  5. lily2u1 May 8, 2012

    I loved the roof views in Firenze, both of and from the rooftops. Heavenly. Ever since, I have wanted a little balcony or rooftop garden, and preferably with red tiles. But, looking at your photos, I am struck by how it looks like such a city, such a large city, whereas walking along on the narrow stone streets with gelato cones reaching out to me and tiny doors beckoning, it felt so intimate. If one can be hugged by a city, I think I was. ~ Lily

    • janinevasta May 8, 2012

      Lily, grazie, I love your description of being hugged by a city… Florence is the perfect scale I think. It feels like an important city but never overwhelms. It’s hard not to covet those tiny mansard apartments with a little terrace and beautifully tended plants… I always stop and imagine the life going on inside. The view from the duomo is stunning and Florence is a vast treasure but there’s nothing as beautiful as exploring street by street. Janine xx

Leave a Reply

