Breathless

I’ve been looking so long at these pictures of you
That I almost believe that they’re real
I’ve been living so long with my pictures of you
That I almost believe that the pictures are
All I can feel

Robert Smith, The Cure

My next trip to Italy will be my first since starting the blog and I am breathless with anticipation. I mean it. For days I haven’t slept properly. I’ve been eating less and less. Coffee count still stable, just as well. I’ve had that nervous energy that means I actually need to stand and iron that basket of ironing that’s been sitting there for a year because even sitting on the sofa with my laptop feels too idle. I know. Incredible! Plus I’ve had the Giro d’Italia for company too so two nights and there was nothing left to iron,,,. After a year of ironing in my underwear! Per dirvene una.

I am breathless because….I’m going…..to Italy……next week. I have to say it like that because this trip (short but sweet at three and a half weeks)  has come together so quickly I can scarcely believe it’s really happening. But I have a ticket and all things being equal I will be on that plane in a few short days and in Rome a mere 24 hours after that….ha!

At least I’ll have time to get my breath back.

I am going to need it.

Comments 28

  1. johna666 May 19, 2012

    Janine, I must admit you have worn me out reading about it, Take a deep breath, stay calm and enjoy the ride….. enjoy your little Italia…………… maybe??????……………..see you in June??.

      • johna666 May 24, 2012

        SOOO good you made it safe, now you are back to your real home…enjoy every minuete, hopefully see you early June…B

  2. lisadenunzio May 20, 2012

    Che meraviglia. I know you will have a wonderful time. I had not begun my blog on our last trip to Italy. It was just a glimmer of a thought and a work in progress. Now, when I return, I will hopefully be able to detail additional aspects of Italy and see, hear and taste it differently

  3. orvietoorbust May 20, 2012

    J, What can I say to you except I am part happy and part envious (but in a good way) and I know that when you walk off the Leonardo and into Termini Station all the feelings and anticipation of your longing to be back in Italy will melt away because you look around and you will be were you belong. Get out the camera and start snapping up more memories. Is M coming with you? Enjoy every single second – savor and remember that you and I will be sitting and having coffee together ONE OF THESE DAYS! Crossed each other my mere weeks!! Bummer. Hugs.t

    • janinevasta May 21, 2012

      Grazie Toni. It will be just as you say, I know. You are so in tune. This trip was truly a whirlwind in the making. A series of small signs that led me to go sooner rather than later….. Had I known I would have been begging you to hang on a couple more weeks!!!! But you are right to have faith. We will have coffee and lunch and walk and talk in Italy together. One of these days. Soon as we can. No, Marabella is staying in Melbourne con i nonni! Poverina! Vorrebbe tanto venire anche lei… But she’s made mamma a small wishlist and I’ll see what I can do…. Meanwhile I will fly the flag for you too in our dear adopted Umbria!!😉 Bacioni tesoro. jxxx

  4. Robyn West May 20, 2012

    This promises to be a particularly special trip. You’ll be in the right place, and in the right space, to allow all those ideas, ponderings, hopes and fantasties that have been bouncing around inside your head and your heart to escape into a world of real and exciting possibilities. Hopefully many will begin to take shape and give you confidence in their potential. I am so excited for you mia cara amica. x

    • janinevasta May 21, 2012

      You give me such faith in myself dear Robyn! Grazie mille! Your words are the essence of all my hopes for this trip and beyond. Keep me in your thoughts. October beckons…. A huge hug, Jxxxx

  5. Katja May 20, 2012

    Squeeeeeee! Oh, you’ll have a wonderful time. Are you going to be in Rome for the full three weeks, or will you be travelling around to other regions?

    • janinevasta May 21, 2012

      O thank you Kate! I am hugely excited to be going as you can see. Even more somehow this time having the blog now… I will be in Umbria and Tuscany this time. I am lucky to have friends and a home base so to speak in Perugia. Actually it really does feel like coming home… Sicily beckons though too I have to say! Jxx

  6. lily May 20, 2012

    WHat! I thought the bright blue of the sky against the terracotta made you breathless, as it made me! But you are going to Italy!!!!!! How Wonderful! Happy packing, safe travels, and of course you will have a marvelous magical time! Cannot Wait to hear all about it! : O With joy ~ Lily

    • janinevasta May 21, 2012

      Knowing you are there keeping an eye on me makes it feel all the more special Lily. I have so many people wishing me well!! How lucky am I? Funny you should say happy packing. I love that part. Anticipation is my thing I think! Imaging what will be. Stay close and take care. Jxxx

    • janinevasta May 22, 2012

      I know!! It was a surprise even to me! I was planning September and then a few things fell into place that made a Spring dash (3+ weeks) worthwhile. As if I need an excuse!!! I would love to have met up over there! Let’s make it happen one day. I will be heading up Lucca way too…. jxx

Leave a Reply

