Chasing shadows

Round midday and forty degrees in the shade but I still couldn’t help myself. The walls of Via Volte della Pace looked so beautiful…. Mind you, I might have had a bit too much sun myself by that stage so let me know what you think!

Comments 19

    • janinevasta June 22, 2012

      Fa’ molto molto caldo Toni….But this morning there’s some lovely cool air coming in the window. The warm evenings bring out the crowds in piazza too which I love. Makes the heat seem all worthwhile. Bacio. Jxx

  1. jann June 22, 2012

    Janine you are a crumbly-wall and graffiti lover, just like me. The first shot looks like a big Cubist painting. I see everyone else but you is INSIDE the thick cool walls!!๐Ÿ™‚

    • janinevasta June 23, 2012

      At least there was no one around to be wondering what on earth I was doing. Well one or two passersby did their best not to look twice! We might have to form a little group Jann! When you come to Perugia you’ll have plenty to keep you interested!!!! Jxxx

  2. JeannieRichard June 22, 2012

    Feels like an open-air catacomb… walking every turn to reveal a new wall of story, another person’s dwelling, all coming connected yet separated by walls.
    I definitely be hiding under the shade… its super hot and dry yet also humid here in singapore too, just strange…urgh.

    • janinevasta June 23, 2012

      Shade has become very sought it’s true. I am starting to chart my walks according to which streets and what time of day….I should write a little guide. Singapore sounds a challenge! Take care!!! Jxx

  3. Robyn June 23, 2012

    They’re all wonderful! I love the first one most, the way you captured those angles – very cubist, as Jann says. There’s another too with a hint of a curve – it teases the eye. I’m a bit of a crumbly wall fan as well so, the second one, plus the grilled window with the peeling orange gas panel is superb. I’m also a massive graffiti fan (surely an Italian word?) so the contrast between the very old surfaces and the modern graffiti art form is inspired! More please.๐Ÿ™‚

    • janinevasta June 25, 2012

      Grazie mille Robyn. I would love to take you on my favourite walk of crumbly walls….I am soooo pleased you like the gas panel thingy. I thought it was just me…. But no! Che bello! Un abbraccio, cara. xx

    • janinevasta June 25, 2012

      Ciao Janie….In Perugia there isn’t too much graffiti. For some reason, the garage doors seems to be the canvas so at least it’s a bit more contained. It can even be quite beautiful. And then the beauty here is such that it can take a bit of graffiti and still shine through, no? Un abbraccio. Jxx

  4. lily June 27, 2012

    Love these photos, Janine (esp. the first three and the sixth–ahhh–and the last as mentioned above) and I Love that you get to see such things, and now stay a few more days. Wonderful. Savor, save. I know you will, I know you are.
    ~ Lily

Leave a Reply

