The writing’s on the wall

Running around taking photos just about every morning in Perugia, the graffiti thing was impossible to ignore.

So I decided not to.

Comments 19

    • janinevasta July 14, 2012

      Thanks Cathy!! You’re always such a pal! To be honest there are many more… Not that I’m a fan of scrawl and graffiti but once I started I couldn’t stop.😉. Funny, as much as I disapprove, some of them I almost like. My own reaction has got me thinking… xx

    • janinevasta July 14, 2012

      Ooops. Shelagh, I may be over-representing things a bit!! It’s really not as rife as it might seem. I really don’t know who the culprits are but I hope that, along with some other ‘sub-culture’ issues Perugia’s facing at the moment, the graffiti is sorted as well. It’s a real shame, especially when the people living in the centre are there trying to sustain the centre and keep the spirit alive. It doesn’t seem fair.

  1. Belén July 14, 2012

    Io sono ormai a Perugia. Mi mancano ancora due settimana prima di partire e sono gia angosciata di pensare alla partenza. A casa mia mi aspettano tante belle cose, allora… come mai questa malinconia? Che ha questa città che ti prende il cuore in questo modo? (Belle le foto, complimenti!)

    • janinevasta July 14, 2012

      Benvenuta e grazie innanzitutto Belen! Guarda, ti capisco completamente! Anche se non so spiegarti da dove viene questa malinconia. Come te, la mia angoscia inizia ben prima della partenza. E alla fine la rimando sempre al ultimo giorno possibile! Sempre! Per me, Perugia ha una dimensione perfetta. Ne troppo grande ne troppo piccola. Poi e’ una citta’ bellissima. La gente e’ simpaticissima, anche se ci vuole un po’ per avvicinarti ai Perugini vale decisamente la pena. E amo la varieta’. In centro si vedono studenti, ragazzi, impiegati, turisti, stranieri, operai, gente benestante e ben vestita, gente comune, giovani, anziani… Ma c’e’ posto per tutti. Quando non ci sono mi manca da morire. Spero cheI tuoi ultimi giorni a Perugia siano felicissimi e pieni di ricordi bellissimi. E spero di risentirci. Un abbraccio.

  2. Robyn July 14, 2012

    I was pleased to note that most of the graffiti was reserved for doors and shutters. It seems most of the perpetrators had a conscience of some sort.🙂

    • janinevasta July 14, 2012

      Exactly Robyn! It was as if they’d given themselves a canvas. Some sort of saving grace I suppose. I wish they didn’t feel the need to scrawl, but, for as long as it’s there, graffiti can’t detract from the overall beauty and balance of the streets and piazze in Perugia. Or am I just too smitten? Jxx

      • Debra Kolkka July 14, 2012

        I wouldn’t be at all thrilled if they scribbled all over my shutters, and I think it does detract from the beauty of the lovely old Italian towns.Fortunately there isn’t much of it in Bagni di Lucca….yet.

    • janinevasta July 14, 2012

      Lovely to see you Lily. Thank you. I hope I don’t some across as condoning graffiti! But it’s unfortunately part and parcel of the urban landscape in Perugia, so here it is. That it can be cleaned away make me a little less anxious. I think of the reasons why. What’s the matter that people feel the need to do this sort of thing.

  3. Helen July 16, 2012

    Well, I really surprised myself by loving these photos! I hate graffiti – as far as I’m concerned it’s vandalism and a lazy, brutish, selfish form of artwork (Banksy not included in that). But looking at the composition and colours in these photos, I saw something different. You have a real eye for this kind of thing Janine! It would, of course, be better if the graffiti wasn’t there in the first place. But it’s so expensive to erase. Schools & media need to educate that portion of youth responsible for it, re-direct their urges elsewhere, get retailers to restrict sales of paint aerosols to over 21s etc etc. Ooops rant mode! Great pics once again!

    • janinevasta July 17, 2012

      I love your comment Helen! And thank you!!! You know, that makes two of us. There’s maybe a tension between the old forever doors and walls and the new, if nasty intervention of the vandals (artists is by no means the word!) Banksy excluded of course.😉 The whole thing made me ponder to. Just when and why they do it. Presumably they’re locals too.

Leave a Reply

