Pictures without words

I’m not sure what it is at the moment. (Suggestions welcome by the way). I have so many ideas and emotions and dreams swirling when I think back to this last sojourn in Italy – and I think about it all the time. But words just don’t come easy right now.

So I’m going all quiet.

And yet, when I see these images, I’ve got things I’d like to say. Little things.

Like the way I stood and watched the street sweeper on Via Pinturicchio long enough to get noticed.

How the Duomo in Perugia really is best viewed in glimpses.

How I loved seeing this signora outside Bar Centrale calmly rocking those pearls, while the rest of us were melting in the June heat.

How an invasion of campaigners in green tee-shirts descended in piazza in the wink of an eye and dispersed almost as quickly. I’m still none the wiser.

But, even now, the sight of a full animal carcass being carried through the front door of the tiny macelleria in Porta Pesa still leaves me speechless. Unless you count ‘the things you see when you have got a camera’.

So please. Feel free to add you own captions. Full-blown stories even.

There’s ‘Pizza Time’

‘Pause for thought’

‘How much is that sandalo in the window?’

You get the picture.

So while I’m struggling, I’d love to know what you come up with. Comments please!!!

Comments 10

  1. JeannieRichard July 17, 2012

    I often get paused amidst the drowning day with a similar kind of emotion.
    I would think in awe, at this very moment, all around the world… every single being is living their own capsuled life being watched by the heavens. The thoughts and emotions within all these singularity of ego… the world in action, the world of action.

    • janinevasta July 17, 2012

      Relax and enjoy the images Cathy! No problem. I wasn’t brave enough to look at the price but the boutique is Tod’s central in Perugia so we’re talking serious euros. But isn’t it beautiful? x

      • Cathy Powell July 18, 2012

        I was just curious. Perugia (and those sandals) are beautiful. I’ve only been once to Perugia but I’d love to return🙂

  2. Shelagh July 18, 2012

    Sometimes it’s important to just be quiet and let yourself regroup. Your inner mind is working out a plan, and it will materialize when it’s ready. Meanwhile you can feed your dreams with pictures!

  3. lily July 20, 2012

    You are a master at capturing scenes full of stories and possibilities, Janine. Through the door of the pizzaria, with the light blaring and clock ticking, stone walls sheltering and outside beckoning… ~ Lily

    • janinevasta July 21, 2012

      You are too generous Lily! But how do you do it? You have the heart and mind of the poet that’s how. You have summed up the little pizza a taglio perfectly. I go there often, especially when Marabella is with me. It’s the best in town and yet the girl has a wistfulness, You see her face light up when friends pass by and make the time go faster. I took this shot at the start of her shift if I recall. For you as it turns out! xx

Leave a Reply

