Friday on my mind

My last meal in Italy was a classic Roman lunch at Da Sergio in Campo de’ Fiori three Fridays ago today. It feels a lot longer actually. I must have attempted to recreate their spaghetti all’Amatriciana at least half a dozen times already.

I know, I know. But you can’t blame me for trying.😉

Trattoria Da Sergio Vicolo delle Grotte, 27 00 186 Roma Itay +39 06 686 4293

Comments 14

  1. paninigirl July 21, 2012

    Whenever I return from Italy I immediately get in the kitchen and try to recreate various things I’ve eaten while I was there. It’s never quite the same, but it helps to keep me connected in some small way.

    • janinevasta July 21, 2012

      It’s so true Janie. The kitchen is a great place to retreat and reconnect. It’s the opposite of what I find on the streets funnily enough. The ‘Italian’ bars and cafes here now feel anything but…

  2. deniseblackman July 21, 2012

    I think the surroundings and atmosphere contributes to the taste. It’s never quite as good and makes me yearn to be back.

  3. marilovegr33n July 21, 2012

    ‘bboni! eh sì l’amatriciana è proprio un piatto tipico romano come la carbonara! ottimo direi! mi piace la foto del cardinale che cammina di schiena vicino a un auto con sirena…è a piazza montecitorio o dove? in ogni caso fa molto roma:-p

    • janinevasta July 21, 2012

      Ma ti dico, erano proprio buoni!!!!! Non vedo l’ora di tornarci. Haha, brava! Si, il cardinale…… Infatti ho scattato la foto a Perugia! Sono stata fortunata perche’ li’ i cardinali sono in pochi!

  4. Shelagh July 22, 2012

    I don’t know why nothing tastes quite the same when I make it in Canada – even dishes I’d managed successfully in Italy (well Ok not as successfully as an Italian, but to my satisfaction at least). Is it the soil???

    • janinevasta July 22, 2012

      That’s where it starts Shelagh. Then the water, the seed, the sun, the air, the love. Terroir the French call it I think. But you know what… I’m glad. It just makes coming home to Italy so much more special, don’t you think? xx

  5. Robyn July 22, 2012

    Give a group of chefs the same ingredients and the same recipe and they will each create a different version. So, don’t be hard on yourselves readers – it’s impossible to recreate a dish! The secret is just to enjoy the dish in situ, in the moment, and let it linger as a delicious memory.🙂

    • janinevasta July 22, 2012

      You’re so right Robyn! It really is the whole experience that makes a meal so special. Being my last day in Rome, seeking refuge from the heat and finding such a perfect place for lunch made those spaghetti taste even better. I guess it’s the memory we’re trying to rekindle as much as the dish itself sometimes😉

Leave a Reply

