Just what is it about Italians that they’re always hanging around in doorways?

Comments 12

  1. jann August 31, 2012

    That’s a lot of guys stuffed into that first doorway! (I see the Italian flag behind them, so that must mean a soccer game is underway…) Love the name of that bar–“del Gesu”!!!! And those girls with the heels and short shorts outside the duomo doors–ahem–I don’t think they’d be allowed inside!

    • janinevasta August 31, 2012

      I had this bar ‘under surveillance’ when I was in Perugia Jann and this is just about as full as I saw it. I think the flag became a bit of a permanent fixture in June as you can imagine. It is a classic old boys bar, named for the church opposite. As for the young ladies, I should have explained! They’re on the secular side of the piazza (outside the comune though the duomo is right opposite) rehearsing for a fashion parade! Quite innocent really.

    • janinevasta August 31, 2012

      Thanks Belen. The girls were rehearsing for a fashion parade – students from the design institute I think. As I said in Jann’s comment, all very innocent. But I feel I’ve portrayed them in the wrong light!

    • janinevasta August 31, 2012

      Grazie mille Cathy! And how very perceptive of you…. It was a scorching hot evening in Rome, the night of the partita and I could see this poor guy had no one in his shop and just wanted to be someplace else. Che sguardo eh?

Leave a Reply

