You’ve got mail

Comments 19

    • janinevasta September 9, 2012

      Grazie cara!!! Haha, well maybe he does…. I don’t know what they’re like in Orvieto, but in Perugia those postmen have their work cut out. But they would have some of the best legs in the business I’m sure!πŸ˜‰ Buona domenica!

    • janinevasta September 9, 2012

      Thank you! You are right Cathy. You know, your comment got me thinking whether letterboxes are sometimes a reflection of their owners… Some of them look like they might have a few stories to tell too – from the days when people still wrote letters I mean.πŸ˜‰

  1. JeannieRichard September 9, 2012

    Just the other night I was saying to Richard – “how things today become so ’empty’.”
    I was actually referring to a vintage skeleton key, beautifully ornate and function
    And today, a key is just a… key. Not aesthetic, just a… key.
    How did things become like that? Where in the past, everything was made beautiful.
    Compare the vintage postboxes here and the ones of the so-called modern day postboxes.
    The vintage ones has so much more character, story and beauty – everyone appreciates them even if when they grow old.
    The modern ones… ugly, defaced, degraded. What so modern about it?
    What the heck is modern??

    • janinevasta September 9, 2012

      You know Jeannie, you take my thoughts so often and turn them into words on the page….I love that. Yes, I understand just what you mean about the emptiness of things. There is so much talk about style and beauty but so much is just talk. Everything is about the next big thing and few items are allowed the status of growing old and loved gracefully. I am having an modern dilemma too right now. It’s so interesting you should ask that question. Once a staunch modernist too…;-) But we grow and we change I suppose. Meanwhile I love having you on board Jeannie! xx

    • Robyn September 11, 2012

      I have an old key, too, that I’ve kept because it’s beautiful. These letterboxes are gorgeous, though I wasn’t sure where the intercoms fitted in. This has to be one of my favourites of your blogs Janine. x

      • janinevasta September 11, 2012

        Thank you Robyn. Always ready with the right word at the right time too!! At least one of the intercoms I suspect used to be a letterbox – the one with the little roof….. Plus in Italy the postman may buzz you if the mail doesn’t quite fit the slot – some of those boxes are on the small side….πŸ˜‰ From the days when letters were sweet little hand-written biglietti d’amore.
        And what is it about old keys? All stories waiting to be told. xx

    • janinevasta September 11, 2012

      Well thank you Garrett! I have to say I love it when I get to show people a little something of Italy they might not have noticed before. As a famous architect said, God really is in the details.πŸ˜‰

  2. lily September 11, 2012

    Beautiful post, fun too. Do you see faces and expressions in things, oftentimes?
    May your mailbox be filled with happy things, Janine, such as invitations. Acceptable invitations. Hugs, ~ Lily

  3. umbriascribe September 15, 2012

    Lovely post (no pun intended!) and photos, Janine! I still get excited when the postman comes to our house to deliver our mail! We are so old-fashioned…the mail was always so important when I was growing up (even more so where my husband grew up in Prague during dark times), and neither of us has lost that slight increase in heart rate when we know that the mail has arrived. I sill handwrite letters and still receive some from one or two friends…it’s so special. Miss you! Come back soon!

    • janinevasta September 15, 2012

      What a treasure you are Nina! Alas, I have all but lost the art of handwriting, letter alone letter writing. And yet those same letterboxes in the blog post (hmmm) got me thinking about things like stationery and stamps and small coloured envelopes for the first time in ages….Good for you. I would love to be back for the autumn. I feel like I have constantly a foot in both camps nowdays. Not an easy positionπŸ˜‰, but I’ll get back home soon I know. x

Leave a Reply

