All in a day’s work

Two of the builders I met have been on the job for more than ten years. And the way they talked about it, with such love and with a sense of personal pride in all they’d manage to achieve I found myself wishing the building sites I get involved with were more like this one. Wishing I could be there working with them every day. Even if it takes another ten years.

San Francesco al Prato has ben covered in scaffolding for as long as I can remember. The basilica is no more per se. Instead the building will be a secular place, for concerts for meeting and music. A temple for a new century perhaps. But they’d better get a move on.

Comments 8

  1. Debra Kolkka October 18, 2012

    Our builders have been great. My Dad was a builder who loved his work and I can see the same with our men at the Vergemoli site……. they look good without their shirts on too….. a bonus on a hot day.

    • Janine October 18, 2012

      A good builder is like gold Deb, as you know. From what I’ve seen you might even hand-pick your builders…;-) I wish we had a more craftsman approach to building in Australia. I loved seeing your house in Vergemoli and how so many old techniques were still being used and detailed so well.

  2. Robyn October 18, 2012

    What a beautiful building. Such lovely details. You have captured the place so well. I thought the contrast between the exterior and the graffiti was clever.

    • Janine October 19, 2012

      Gracious Robyn, thank you! I have a soft spot for the pink and white facade. It was a big thing for me to be able to see inside after watching and waiting for so many years. Then when I did, the builders I met were so…happy!

Leave a Reply

