Table manners

I often think of how incredible it would be to set up a long table of all my blogger friends and followers. Somewhere in Italy. We might want to wait for the better weather and we can sit outside and soak up wine and a view over rolling hills. That would be in my Christmas stocking if I could for sure.

But for now I wish you all a Christmas in the truest sense of the word. A fresh start, a reflection, time to be kind to one another and maybe more importantly kind to ourselves. Because only then can we really start to give to the world and the people we love the best of who we are.

DSC02856DSC02730Piazza Matteoti tablePranzo estivoEating solo PerugiaBar Veneta Perugia

Buon natale a tutti!

Comments 24

  1. kayrpea61 December 24, 2012

    Yes indeed, I’m up for that. Of course, we need a bit of notice to get across the oceans! Oh, and a cushion and backrest for the ageing bones would be nice too. Best wishes for the Season and 2013, Janine.

    • janinevasta December 24, 2012

      Lovely! Not to worry. You’ll have plenty of notice and comfort all the way. It’ll be a long lunch so we’ll need it!
      Wishing you a glorious Christmas just as you would wish it to be. Thank you for all your sweet, funny comments. You’re a delight!

    • janinevasta December 24, 2012

      Stranger things have happened Cathy….There’s really no group I ‘d rather be sharing a table with than you all right now. Who knows what the new year will bring? Good things for all I hope ! Un abbraccio.

  2. johna666 December 24, 2012

    Janine, Again, Buon Natale e un Felice Anno nuovo, wouldn’t this be goog, after all, isn’t that what Italy’s all about. I have the perfect location!!. I will email you shortly with a photo of my nuovo pad!!.Lots of space!!. Take care and hope you enjoy this festive time, yes and let us remember what it is all about!!!!.
    .

    • janinevasta December 24, 2012

      That’s great Brian. Please do send some pics! I am delighted you’re home for Christmas! Say a little prayer for me do far away and I ‘ll look forward to reports of you first Christmas in Orvieto. Hmmm sounds like a good title for a book too! Buon natale di cuore!!!

      • johna666 December 24, 2012

        Janine Grazie. Hey, I’m not in Orvieto, still in Bolsena, couldn’t find anything in Orvieto like this one, Oh and I love that Lake!!. and I can see it all from new place. Moving end of January,.but will explain more in email. B x.

    • janinevasta December 26, 2012

      I hope you have a really special festive season Janie. I think you’re one who really knows how to make the most of things. It’s something I get from your blog all the time and I need to start taking lessons… x

  3. Robyn January 1, 2013

    Eating outdoors has to be one of the greatest sociable activities in Italy. Years ago, I turned up at a youth hostel on Lake Como mid-afternoon. There was a friendly crowd around a long table, everyone mellow after a delicious, leisurely lunch. I was invited to tuck into the left-overs, which could never be disappointing in Italy. It’s one of those memories that always revives a smile.

    • johna666 January 1, 2013

      Tonight here in Bolsena Lazio, New Years Eve, a large group of us are doing just this, although very cold, the company is so warm, I will not notice it, Hey I see it is New year there in OZ,, Buon Anno, con Italia. I will raise a glass of red to you all. Janine where are you????????..

      • janinevasta January 2, 2013

        I hope you all cosied up and kept warm Brian. I can imagine the scene. It was a beautiful day and night here in Melbourne but at the stroke of midnight the streets were very quiet indeed, relative to Bolsena I’m sure! Enjoy the inner warmth the festive season brings in Italy. I’m there in spirit….

    • janinevasta January 2, 2013

      That’s a beautiful story Robyn. Happily it’s a typical tale and one that the Italians continue to create and so the ranks of Italy lovers grow and grow. Your word mellow strikes a special chord with me. It’s quite perfect for how I feel when I’m there too… Thank you. xx

Leave a Reply

