Good things come to those who wait

DSC01770Tutti pazzi per la porchettaChiosco a Piazza Matteotti

Comments 11

  1. jann April 1, 2013

    A take-away porchetta kiosk in the middle of town??? Wow. That must be new-ish. I don’t remember it from my stay 5-6 years ago. I’d like to see that young woman in picture 3 wearing her outfit down here in my village. She would be watched so intently that she’d finally go home and change.๐Ÿ™‚

    • janinevasta April 1, 2013

      Haha Jann….Indeed that same kiosk was ‘the banana man’ for many years. Well, I can remember buying bananas from there on my first trip to PG as a mere slip of a student๐Ÿ˜‰ Evidently bananas weren’t exotic enough anymore…. But back to that girl… I can just imagine the stares down your way. Not so much for the length of her skirt as for not wearing it with a good/glam pair of heels perhaps??? The trainers aren’t working for me either… But you have to love the diversity. God knows though she would have turned a few heads in Corso Vannucci too.

  2. Debra Kolkka April 1, 2013

    Forget about the girl, some of my pet hates are here, leggings worn as pants and those awful loose, below the knee pants with a scruffy Tshirt, clumpy shoes….yuk!
    I have some porchetta though.

  3. Shelagh April 2, 2013

    There is a spiedo chicken man who comes to the market in Varese Ligure every Tuesday – the best chicken in Italy as far as we’re concerned. So popular you have to order your chicken when you first arrive at the market, in order to be sure there’ll be one to pick up as you’re leaving. We never got as far as the house before we started dipping in. The delicious smell of it in the car was impossible to resist!

    • janinevasta April 3, 2013

      I can tell how fond that memory is for you Shelagh by such a loving description….. It sounds an almost sensual experience eating that chicken. Well, no almost about you’re probably saying. The whole ritual leading up to that first irresistible bite only making it more so. What a fabulous story. x

    • janinevasta April 3, 2013

      Time would surely fly as it’s a nice little corner of Perugia, Janie. Plenty of passing traffic to keep us interested and wonderful traditional no-fuss food shops that have been there forever just across the piazza for you to explore post-panino!

  4. lily April 13, 2013

    “Good things come to those who wait.” Well, we’ll see, won’t we? ; )
    Janine, I hope all is well with you. I think of you often, and as promised say prayers for you and your hopes, dreams, and projects. Things have been so busy with me yet much the same. I have nothing exciting to report. It is always a pleasure to peruse your photos though, so I am here happily perusing. Hugs to you, ~ Lily

    • janinevasta April 15, 2013

      Hello Lily! We’ll see indeed… But meanwhile let’s refuse to lose hope, OK? I too think of you, imagine how your elegant life and spirit is unfurling. I will be back in Italy for a quick fix soon and will light many candles for us as I always like to do. A presto amica, xx

Leave a Reply

