When it comes to love you have every right to keep your standards high

Navigli love locksNavigli footbridge

Comments 20

  1. Debra Kolkka April 27, 2014

    I actually think this is vandalism. Someone has to come and chop them off when they threaten to ruin the fences they are on. They are now banned on the Ponte Vecchio and I’m all for….yes, I admit, I am an old curmudgeon when it comes to this stupid idea.

    • janinevasta April 27, 2014

      O Deb😉 Call me a hopeless romantic then…. Vandalism was the furthest thing from my mind when I put this post out there. Believe me. The footbridge here crosses the Navigli in Milan – a very significant place for me. Not that I ‘own’ a padlock there of anything, but when I was back there almost a year ago I was filled with memories and swept back to a very special day 10 years ago when I re-met a lost love and the place he chose for dinner couldn’t have been more than 100 metres from where I took the photo.

      Fast forward to last year then, this photo was taken just before a big business meeting and I think it was helping to calm my nerves. Such a beautiful day too. It all helped.

      • Debra Kolkka April 28, 2014

        I admit to being a miserable old sod about this, but I just think it is silly. Plant a rose, put a padlock on your own fence…anything but this.

    • janinevasta April 27, 2014

      OOh I love having raised a little debate here…. I can understand your point of view Carina. As I said to Deb, I must be one of those hopeless romantics when it comes to the locks and what they are there to represent. The graffiti is a bridge too far even for me… Sorry, lousy pun not intended!🙂 xx

    • janinevasta April 27, 2014

      Hey Ken. Interesting point. I can’t say the padlocks have ever detracted from the Ponte Vecchio for me. In fact I’m starting to think I must be walking around in a romantic haze when I’m In Italy but even so, public tokens of love have by vote of approval within reason of course…. Graffiti not so much.

      Perhaps the ban in Florence was Matteo Renzi’s last hurrah as mayor… or is he still holding down that job as well😉 ???

  2. marilovesgr33n April 29, 2014

    eh siii questa è una moda tutta italiana: i lucchetti. L’ha lanciata Muccino in un film ed è soprattutto diffusa a Ponte Milvio, a Roma, bello vederlo qui da te. Cogli sempre il meglio🙂.
    baci baci baci
    mari

      • marilovesgr33n April 29, 2014

        vabbé è una cosa molto da adolescenti in teoria. Serve per giurarsi amore eterno come dei ragazzi possono fare. A me piace molto il simbolo e l’idea dietro il lucchetto :*

  3. alysb May 1, 2014

    I don’t support graffiti, but I suppose with the lucchetti it depends on numbers. In Urbania in Le March,e they have the same custom, and because it’s not a big town or famous tourist destination (though it has a lot to offer), there are not too many lucchetti, so I think it’s ok.

    • janinevasta May 2, 2014

      That’s a good point Alys. Urbania sounds charming. I’ve always wanted to visit Le Marche. As Mari says, it’s the symbol and the sentiment behind the locks that makes them so endearing and lifts them way above graffiti.

  4. alysb May 4, 2014

    Yes, the region is well worth visiting. Urbino is the famous town for art and architecture, of course, but most of the historic centres of the hill-towns are works of art in themselves. Urbania is particularly famous for its mummies, but I like its library, which belonged to the Dukes of Urbino and books from which are sometimes exhibited in the town’s museum. http://wp.me/pp7NI-3 if you are interested and haven’t seen it already.

    • janinevasta May 6, 2014

      It sounds like somewhere I would LOVE, absolutely. That mix of art and hill towns and history still alive in the streets and the people is what I love too about Umbria. Thanks so much Alys!

Leave a Reply

