Words and Pictures 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI’m more comfortable with pictures than words but sometimes the pictures need  words to come to life. Words are like a frame around a canvas. A good frame can make all the difference to the way we look at something. A bad frame too.

But why am I more at ease with images? If something comes more easily to you I guess that makes you like it more. I love to write but it’s not as easy as taking a picture I like. Feeling happy with a written work takes a lot longer for me.

I know my readers are almost all bloggers themselves and do so much more diligently than me these days. So, a question. If you had to choose – words or pictures – what would it be?

Comments 13

  1. kayrpea61 April 25, 2015

    You are such a star Janine with your pictures. They convey your great skill at capturing the absurd or unusual. Your single word captions often tell all that is needed. If there has to be a decision, I’ll go with pictures🙂

    * Footnote – the picture in this post won’t open, so I am left hanging in mid breath – puff puff – what gem is hidden here?

  2. Cathy Powell April 25, 2015

    I agree with my Dad Janine, your captions are so apt and your pictures are absolutely fantastic. You have captured the most amazing things. Funnily enough although I like writing, I prefer pictures too. Maybe I should have created a photo blog…

    • janinevasta April 25, 2015

      Thank you for your generous words Cathy! I really appreciate your take on this. Yours is a picture blog too in my mind – with a bonus story! Your style of writing paints beautiful, personal, always very real life pictures all their own. x

  3. Heather Jarman April 26, 2015

    For myself I have to choose words. I have too many and need to unload them. If I were as skilled as you at using the combination of pictures and just a few words to convey a moment of enlightment, I would probably choose pictures too.

    • janinevasta April 26, 2015

      Your words flow so effortlessly Heather. Funny you should say that Heathet. I can almost tell you’re in a hurry to get them out sometimes. They’re your paint. And they never fail to capture a moment I wish I could be sharing in your beautiful corner of Italy. Thank you for your comments! x

Leave a Reply

